Whole30 Day 1

Standard

Today is Day 1 of the Whole30 program! I got my mom, best friend (she joined yesterday, yay!), and myself all prepped and ready last night for the week. We all are super pumped and excited for this 30 day challenge! 🙂

The challenge is based around eating quality, whole, good-for-you foods. No sugar, dairy, grains, legumes, or processed junk including sulfites, MSG’s, or carrageenan’s. It’s about process of elimination to not only help you find a better balance with food but to also let you see what allergies or food sensitivities you may have.

The thing that got me so excited about this program, was how many people had significant number drops in their cholesterol and some were even able to get off their medications. Wow! It would just be amazing to get those dang numbers down!

With the program, they also recommended you read their book, It Starts With Food. It was written by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig who created the Whole30 program. It is an amazing book about all the different food groups and how they affect our bodies, negatively or positively. They give you all the scienc-y stuff about food and dumb it down so it is easy to understand. I am about halfway through and excited to continue reading and learning more. One big thing they emphasize on is finding the balance, which is one of my main goals to find again.

This program is the exact jumpstart I need to get to back on track. To be able to find the balance, feel better, and be proud of the person staring back at me in the mirror again. I will be posting everyday about how it is all going, my workouts, and what we are eating. I am so thankful and lucky to have my mom and best friend along with me for the ride! So important to have a great support system when taking on a big challenge! Through perseverance, it is going to be an AWESOME 30 days! 😀

Day 1

PreWorkout Snack: Small handful of cashews and macadamia nuts

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  30 minutes Sculpt & 30 minutes Cheeky; walk with the pooch this afternoon

PostWorkout Snack: Hard-boiled egg

Breakfast: Egg whites with palm sized grilled pork and coffee with a splash of coconut milk

Lunch: Rainbow salad with tahini dressing, palm sized chicken, and 1/4-1/2 of an avocado

Dinner: Spaghetti squash with roasted shrimp and asparagus

Wish us luck!

6 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 1

  1. Amber

    ~~Good Luck to you and your momma~~ I have totally thought about doing this, wish I lived closer, don’t think I have the will power to go it alone 🙂 haha ❤

  2. Good luck! Thanks for following my blog!
    W30 can be tough but it’s totally worth it, I found it to be life changing and have lost nearly 50 lbs since may 2013. I am on day 30 of my second whole30 and am feeling fantastic! You can do it!

    • Thank you, Leslie-Anne! 🙂 Appreciate the support! Excited to follow your blog and thank you for following mine!! And congrats to you on your huge loss! That’s incredible! I have lost about 60lbs and kept it off over the last two years. Had a little set-back and needed something to get me back on track. Feel the Whole30 will be the ticket! On Day 2 and already feel so great! Excited to see the results at the end!

Leave a Reply

