Whole30 – Day 2

Standard

Maybe it’s all in my head, but man do I feel AMAZING! After one day of this program, I just feel great. My mind feels clearer, my body feels cleaner, and my attitude is positive! I am just so pumped to being feeling great and excited to see the results at the end of the 30 days. And, according to the Whole30 Timeline, this is exactly how they expect me to feel;

Day 1: So what’s the big deal?

It’s 3 p.m. on day 1. You had a guilt-free plate of steak and eggs for breakfast, breezed through the morning with coffee and coconut cream by your side, and had a nice big salad for lunch. Your body is telling you it’s snack time, so you grab a handful of almonds and an apple and head back to your desk to finish out your day. You’ve got a slow cooker full of chili infusing your kitchen with a heavenly smell, and right now you can’t see why anyone thinks this is hard.

This delusion is somewhat akin to the first episode of any given reality show on which the contestants are herded together and forced to live in one house. At the end of the first episode, everyone can just tell they are going to be best friends for life. Those of us on the other side of the screen know better, though, don’t we? No one really believes this mess to be true, but everyone humors it… because how long can it last, really?

The truth is that you’re feeling empowered by making one good choice after another, all day long. And you should! Take note of that Rock Star feeling, stash it away and bring it back out when days get rough. Because rest assured that after a lifetime of suboptimal choices, things are going to have to get worse before they can get better.

Speaking of rough…”

Today and tomorrow are apparently supposed to be rough but I still feel great! We shall see…

I don’t think I have ever cooked as much as I have over the past two days! Meal prepping is no joke but I love doing it! 🙂 It is a lot of work up front but it is SO nice to just have everything ready. I had always ‘prepped’ the night before when I was doing my five small meals a day but prepping for the whole week is kind of amazeballs.

Here is a snapshot of the Quiche I made us for breakfast today and Thursday morning:

photo 1Mmm…according to my mom and best friend, it was delish! I am about to dive in now! (p/s – Gosh, I have an incredible support system! Doing this with my mama and best friend has made it SO fun and motivating! They are just wonderful! <3)

As the picture says,

If You Never Try, Then You’ll Never Know

This hits the nail right on the head for me with this program. When I first read about it, I went back and forth but then thought, ‘if you never try it, how will you know that you won’t see results from it?’ I am so glad that I decided to take this challenge and I am so stoked and proud that my mom and best friend decided to come along with me. We are going to persevere through these next 29 days and have a smile while we do! 😀

Day 2

PreWorkout Snack: Coffee w/coconut milk

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  1 hour Cardio/Sculpt & 30 minutes of Insanity

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey

Drinks All Day: WATER & tea

Breakfast: Mushroom, chicken, & sausage Quiche with two small mandarin oranges

Lunch: Butternut squash and pork stew with homemade chicken broth and 1/4 of an avocado

Dinner: Blueberry turkey patties with steamed broccoli and ‘sautéed’ kale

(Will post recipes later today!)

5 thoughts on “Whole30 – Day 2

  1. What?! That Quiche is PART of the diet! sign me up!! hahaa, but I liked the quote there referencing reality shows. Keep it all in perspective and use this motivation to keep going! Good luck, rooting for you!! 🙂

    • Right?!? And it was DELICIOUS!!! Yummmm! Will share the recipe soon. And thank you for the good luck wishes! Definitely keeping it in perspective with all these delicious meals I am able to make! 👍

Leave a Reply

