Whole30 – Day 3

Standard

Days 2-3: The Hangover.

The alarm rings on day 2 and you pop out of bed expecting the same kind of Charlie Sheen winning feeling you had yesterday. Instead, you get the other side of Charlie…you know – the pounding-head-cross-eyed-can’t-see-straight side. You know you didn’t down a fifth of tequila in your sleep, so what the heck happened?!

Remember the pre Whole30 bender you went on? Pizza, cookies, Jim Beam, jelly beans (oh, the jelly beans)? Yeah. This is when it comes back to bite you in the butt. (And the head.) And it is definitely true that the amount of suck you experience in this phase is directly proportional to the amount of crap you consumed before you began the program. Especially if you consumed it consistently. This phase is especially hard for the habitual Diet Coke (and Diet Dr. Pepper here in my part of the world) drinkers. You know who you are.

Many Whole30ers report headaches, fatigue, and general malaise during this part of the program. This, my friends, is completely normal. Your body is working its way through a whole host of junk it stored from the foods (or food-like-products) you used to eat. This process lasts a day for some folks, but for others it can take a few days longer. Relax, drink a lot of water, and keep making good choices. And do your best to earn  sympathy and support from friends and family, because…”

Huh…no kidding…

My alarm rang at 5:30am this morning and I struggled to get out of bed. Today has been a little tougher as I am feeling tired, a bit foggy, and yet, amazingly, still great. About mid-afternoon yesterday, I went to bed with a pounding headache. Not from lack of caffeine but from lack of sugar. Crazy as I have never had a sugar headache. Thankfully, according to the Whole30 timeline (above), this is all normal.

Whew.

I was telling my best friend last night when she came over for dinner that I was quite surprised that I had not had one single sugar craving. My surprise being that for the past month and a half I have felt the need to indulge in something sweet everyday, sometimes twice a day. (Eek…I know.) So, logically, I assumed that my sugar craving would be the hardest thing for me to conquer but, so far, I haven’t craved sugar at all. I am not even tempted by any sugar that is around me (i.e. my little brothers bag of trail mix filled with M&M’s that is sitting on my coffee table for him to snack on as he recovers from appendix surgery. He is lucky he is so cute 😉 ).

Today’s quote really boosted my spirit…

You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great” – Zig Zagler

Even though I am not feeling as super ‘peppy’ as I have the past two days, I still feel awesome and I am still pumped to persevere through each day to come. I am proud to have made the start to be great. 🙂

Day 3

PreWorkout Snack: Small handful of cashews and macadamia nuts

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  30 minutes of sculpt and 30 minutes of core. Will take the pooch on a walk this afternoon.

PostWorkout Snack: Hardboiled egg

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Two egg whites with a palm-sized portion of pork

Lunch: Rainbow salad with tahini dressing, chicken, and 1/4 avocado with a small fruit

Dinner: Butternut squash and pork stew with homemade chicken broth with 1/4 avocado

(Turkey burger recipe will be posted later today!)

Leave a Reply

