Whole30 – Day 4

Standard

Remember how I said that I was tired and foggy yesterday (my mom and best friend both informed me that they felt the same)? Well that traveled through to today as I slept through my alarm for the gym 😦 Literally, no excuses, my body and mind just feel whooped. All normal, they say, so I feel a bit better about that but I hate missing my gym time! (I also read that the first week is tough for working out as your body is adjusting to your new way of eating and to take it easy. Easy? I don’t understand that word. 😉 )

I do hope my mind becomes a bit more clear today and I have no headaches. According to the timeline, today and tomorrow are going to be angry days…uh oh…watch out…

Days 4-5: Kill ALL the things!

Day 4 dawns and you tentatively step out of bed, expecting to feel like you took a strike from Thor’s hammer in the temple. Instead, your head is surprisingly clear. Your limbs all feel functional. This could be a good day! You walk into the kitchen and as you’re greeted by the smiling face of your significant other you are suddenly overcome…with the desire to punch them in the face for smiling this early in the morning. Congratulations! You’ve made it to day 4.

Now, I have no clue why this phase happens, or why it happens here (and not on, say, day 14).* I just know that it happens. Often. Even experienced Whole30ers (myself included) go through this phase. Every nerve is lit, temperance is non-existent and the only solution to the problem seems to be to Kill All of the Things.

This phase, too, will pass. Beg your spouse, children, parents, co-workers, for patience and forgiveness – as nicely as you can (and no, “shut up and leave me alone!” does not count as nice). Take a deep breath and eat some sweet potatoes. I promise, you’ll feel better soon.

*It’s probably because your brain is never very happy when you tell it that it CAN’T have something, and take it out of it’s habitual and accustomed comfort zone. An unhappy brain is a stressed brain, an anxious brain, a fearful brain. No to mention your hormones are desperately trying to keep up with your new food choices, your gut is trying to heal, you’ve had a headache for the last three days, and you REALLY MISS YOUR DIET COKE. So yeah, maybe we do know why this is happening now…”

I don’t feel angry, yet, but we will see how the day progresses! 😉

Even though my body is going through all these wacky things and I am feeling off balance, I still feel AWESOME and still pumped to persevere through this program! I am so glad I stopped wishing for things to change and just started DOING something about it! We totally got this! 😀

Day 4

Workout :  REST DAY

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Will update this afternoon as my pops invited me to breakfast and I am going to call the restaurant now to see if I can make something work 🙂

UPDATE: Met my dad for breakfast at Oxbow Cafe & Bistro and I went through all the normal, annoying questions; what kind of oil they use, etc. Luckily, for me, they use NO oil, just clarified butter to cook their meals which I CAN HAVE! Yay! 🙂 I had scrambled eggs with spinach and sausage. Yumm! Paired with a great cup of coffee and wonderful time spent with my pops, it was an amazing morning!

Lunch: Rainbow salad with tahini dressing, chicken, and 1/4 avocado with a small fruit

Dinner: Blueberry turkey patties with steamed broccoli and ‘sautéed’ kale

2 thoughts on “Whole30 – Day 4

Leave a Reply

