Whole30 – Day 6 & 7

Standard

I had a dream about cheese last night. All things deliciously cheesy. But I didn’t eat any of it as I kept saying, “I can’t have cheese on the Whole30”! Odd but so proud of myself! Too funny! (I have had some super cravings for Mexican food the last couple of days…wonder if that is where it came from…hmmm!)

The timeline for yesterday and today;

Days 6-7: I just want a nap

Okay, so its day 6 and you made it through the last phase without smiting anyone. The thing is, today you don’t feel like you could smite anyone if your life depended on it! It’s 10 am and all you can think about is crawling under your desk for a catnap. As the day drags on, the surface of your desk is morphing, from hard wooden surface to snuggly warm pillow, right before your eyes. You hit the gym, but only halfheartedly, unable to face the barbell with any kind of conviction. You crawl into bed at 8 p.m. only to drag yourself out eleven hours later feeling no more rested than you did the night before.

So what’s the deal?! Isn’t eating like this supposed to increase energy levels? Yes…in the long run. Right now, your body is learning that it can’t rely on all those easy access energy sources it used to know and love. Gone are the days of cinnamon crunch muffins and Frappuccinos. Now your body is learning to efficiently burn fat and protein as its fuel sources, and that takes more effort – and some time. If you can hold out just a bit longer, you’ll definitely reap the benefits. (Besides, you could probably use a day off from the gym anyway, right?)

Definitely would agree with this as I felt tired yesterday and the same today (but still great 🙂 ). I was telling a friend after the gym yesterday that I am so amazed with how wonderful I feel after only 5 days (now 6); it is easier for me to wake up, my body feels clean and happy, and my mind just feels clear. Love all these incredible changes happening!

Have to add, as yesterday was a very exciting day, that my best friend, who is on the Whole30 with myself and my mama, found her wedding dress AND her cowboy boots that she is going to wear for their big day!!!! AHHHH! 😀 It was such an exciting moment and day, and, my goodness, she just looks so GORGEOUSLY STUNNING in it all! Still makes me tear up thinking about it all, :’-) happy tears, of course! The dress is INCREDIBLY beautiful and I am SO excited for their big day to get here but also can’t wait for all the fun festivities in between! YAY to 2014 and all the LOVE ❤

Confession….

Will admit I had a downer moment yesterday about my body with not feeling happy about my outside changes. (Mind you, my inside changes are phenomenal!) I texted my mom knowing she would be able to pull me out of the slump and she, of course, knew just what to say, “You are making the right choices and changes and you cannot expect 6 days of eating clean and working out to completely fix a month off. But look at all the positive things you feel already, the changes you are striving for will come with time and continued hard work, and I know you will get there again! And look at all the people you have already helped or inspired? Like me! Through perseverance, we TOTALLY got this!” (My mom is amazing, if you haven’t already guessed.) She shared some personal struggles with the bestie and I to help keep our motivation and spirits up! I love you, ma! Thank you for always making my day brighter and I am SO proud of YOU!

I found this quote (today’s picture) after a dear friend posted it on her Instragram;

Small changes consistently implemented, inevitably produce huge results. – Dame Luthas

Fits perfectly for today to help remind me that these small changes I am making and consistently implementing, will help me persevere to get to my end goal. And with my incredible support team, I know we totally got this!

Day 6

PreWorkout Snack: Coffee w/coconut milk

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  1 hour TurboKick

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Quiche with half of an apple

Lunch: Salmon with avocado salsa, roasted cauliflower, and steamed bok choy (packed in a lunch box for the bestie and I)

Dinner: Spiced grass-fed ground beef with mashed garlic cauliflower

Day 7

REST DAY

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Quiche with a few strawberries

Lunch: Spiced grass-fed ground beef with mashed garlic cauliflower

Dinner: Garbage stir-fry (basically things you have left over in the fridge)

Leave a Reply

