Whole30 – Day 8 & 9

Standard

Do you ever have those days where you just feel as big as a house? My goodness. I feel like a blue whale. I mean, no fat jokes or hard feelings towards the whale but seesh…it’s just how I feel.

Day 8-9: For the love of Gosling, my pants are TIGHTER.

You’ve made it through the Hangover, and managed not to kill ALL the things, and you’re starting to feel like things are back on level ground again.  Then, you put on your pants. They’re just pants, completely normal pants. In fact, they’re the pants you wore just three days ago. (You were too tired to wash them. It’s okay, we understand.) And three days ago, they fit.  But this morning you had to take a big deep breath to get that button where it ought to be.  What gives?!

The same processes that ran over you like a truck a few days ago are still working their magic in your body.  Your body composition is not actually changing for the worse, we assure you. The enzymes that digest your food and the millions of bacteria that live in your gut are adjusting to your new intake of meat and vegetables, and the lack of easy-access sugars.  This is something they do naturally, and these adjustments have contributed to humanity’s ability to flourish throughout our history.  However, these adjustments can be a bit… uncomfortable. Bloating, constipation, diarrhea, or all three may appear as your gut starts to heal, rebalance, and process this new food effectively. The good news is that most people find this phase passes relatively quickly, and their pants are easy to button again within a week or so.

A week or so??? Bummer. All good though as I know this is doing happy things to my body. And I really do feel so awesome so a little bloating and being un-comfy for a bit won’t be that terrible…all positive things happening!

My sweet mama still has her headache 😦 poor thing! We decided to research a bit why she is having her headache for so long and came across a great video about sugar shock from Dr. Oz. We gained some great insight on just how horrible the stuff is for us and, on top of that, it is in practically EVERYTHING we eat (processed junk, sauces, soups, milk, bacon, etc.)! Definitely recommend watching the video; Jorge Cruise & Dr. Oz – Sugar Shock

I have got to give my mom and best friend props because on Friday they both had sweets all around them at their offices. I got this picture from my mom around lunch time…

unnamedSUGAR SHOOOOCCCKKKK! Ack! Way to go girls! So proud of you both that you didn’t cave to the sugar! 😀

Nothing feels better than feeling good about yourself.

SHAPE magazine posted this quote the other day on Facebook and I just loved the message behind it as it is the honest truth. It came up on my feed at the exact time I started to ‘fat-talk’ at myself. It made me question; “how can you talk to yourself this way? This doesn’t make you feel better, it makes you feel worse. Would you ever talk to someone you loved like this?”. We have got to stop putting ourselves down with the ‘fat-talk’. I 100% admit that I am guilty of it but it does not benefit me in any way.

From today on, my new goal is to wake up everyday, look at myself in the mirror, and give myself a compliment. Compliments such as, “I am proud of you for not grumbling when your alarm clock went off”. Simple as that. I will be sure to share with you all what my compliment for the day is to help keep me accountable and to keep the positive-talk flowing! And please share with me what your compliment of the day to yourself is! Through perseverance, we can help stop the ‘fat-talk’!

P/S Went to the doc yesterday for a check-up…cholesterol is down a bit! YAY! She upped my dosage of my cholesterol med to maybe help bring it down a bit more. She was also very happy to hear I was doing a program that could possibly help as well! But my thyroid is acting up (which may also have a factor in the cholesterol on-top of genetics) 😦 I had to be put on a med for that and have an ultrasound Thursday. Please keep positive thoughts for me! XO

Day 8

PreWorkout Snack: Coffee w/coconut milk

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  30 mins Sculpt & 30 mins Cheeky

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Sweet potato hash with two eggs and four strawberries

Lunch: Salmon crumble with green beans and garlic mashed cauliflower

Dinner: TACOS!!!! with homemade avocado dressing…yummmm!

Day 9

PreWorkout Snack: Water (unfortunately can’t eat anything within an hour of taking this new medication)

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  1 hour & 30 mins of Cardio/Sculpt

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Ground pork sautéed with apples and onions and an egg

Lunch: TACOS!!!! with homemade avocado dressing…yummmm!

Dinner: Chicken with cabbage & asparagus

 

6 thoughts on “Whole30 – Day 8 & 9

  1. Wow sounds tricky with the pants not quite closing! But I admire your strength, and think it must help knowing you have to come back and report to BlogWorld hahaa. And that’s a bummer about your mom, hope she feels better soon!! Keep going, keep going!!

    • It’s a bit uncomfortable but all good! Know it’s all helping positive things happen in my body! 🙂 Thank you so much! And yes! Holding myself accountable definitely helps keep my drive as well as the support from my followers! Thank you, me too! 🙂 No stopping me now! I feel too amazing to give up! 😀

      • Bonnie

        Positive thought for this evening: I am my blessingsI I have the support! I have this!!

        All the menu has been so delicious, beautiful daughter!! Thank you for all your amazing posts, your words of support, and all you very, very hard work!!! Thank you seems so “weak sauce” as my students would say…but you know I am truly grateful and unbelievably proud of you!!!

        Nine (9) days….WOW….

        Your posts have been “spot–on” as to what to expect along this journey. The headache has been an unfortunate piece, but your research and my research has helped to truly understand why this is occurring.

        Many thoughts today about a lifetime of choices in eating…learning a great deal about me…food….😊….meeting a new challenge…

        Love you to Downtown Disney and a jog over to Main Street…. xoxoxo 💗

      • Gosh, ma, you are just the greatest! Thank you for all your love and support through everything in my life…bit and small! And I am so proud of you for taking this ride with me! You are kickin buns! I just feel so bad about your sweet head! I think you’re relationship with food will just be helped so immensely by the end of this! Crossing my fingers we can get your headache gone soon!!! I love and adore you to the moon and back! ❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

