Whole30 Day 12-15

Standard

These dreams the last few nights have been so vivid and all about FOOD! Food I can’t have. Last night, the dream was all about me making biscuits. So strange as I don’t even like biscuits that much but I woke up feeling so guilty!

Days 12-15: Boundless energy! Now give me a damn Twinkie.

Hurray! The slump is over! Your pants fit again! Your energy levels are better than normal – you’re downright Tigger the bouncing tiger! But something weird is happening. You’re dreaming. Not crazy nightmare or strange surrealist dreams, either. Incredibly normal and realistic dreams – about donuts. Or Twinkies. Or Snickers.* In your mind, sometimes you get caught and feel guilty. Sometimes you just brazenly eat the contraband. But then, the feelings start following you into the waking hours. Suddenly, you’re craving things you don’t even like. (For me, it’s Diet Coke and Twinkies, for Melissa Hartwig, it was fast-food cheeseburgers!) Your co-workers’ heads transform into giant Girl Scout Cookies as you gaze on in disbelief. Seriously, you’ve almost hit the halfway mark, and now this?!

All joking aside, though, this phase gets really intense and for some people. This is the part of the program where our minds try to drive us back to the comfort of the foods we used to know. Our food relationships are deeply rooted and strongly reinforced throughout the course of our lives and breaking through them is really big deal. Journaling can be especially enlightening and helpful during this phase, and helpful for reflection later. Take some time to jot down what you’re craving, how you’re feeling and what tools you’re using to work through the cravings.

*The cravings people get, and the dreams they often have, rival those of pregnancy. One person told me they craved pickles and Doritos (together) during this phase!

I have had so much energy the last few days; waking without my alarm, bouncing off the walls a little bit, and just feeling clean and clear (but totally out of control… 😉 J/K horrible joke…silly Clean&Clear commercials).

As I was working out yesterday, I almost broke down into tears I was feeling so great. My body is starting to feel and look like it used to, I am excited for and can bust through my workouts, I am not as tired and cranky, and my complexion is clearing up! Getting back to being comfortable in my skin is such an incredible feeling. I had forgotten how amazing it truly is and the impact it has on my entire demeanor. Even my sweet husband mentioned to me the other day that he can tell that I am becoming happy and confident again and he has missed that!

I may not be there yet, but I’m closer than I was yesterday.

Love this for today as this is EXACTLY what I was telling my trainer Friday after our workout. I am back on track, feeling so much better and getting comfortable in my skin again, and even though I am not exactly where I want to be, I will continue to persevere and get a little closer everyday. A forever journey that I am so unbelievably excited for again!

If you are afraid to do or start something to get yourself to where you want to be, whether it’s in a relationship, at your job, or your own health, start today. It may take time to get there but in the end, it will be so worth it. I am only on Day 14 of this Whole30 program and I cannot believe all the positive changes I feel and have made to get me to where I want to be. Give it two weeks or 30 days…you can do it as I am here to support you! Through perseverance, we can do whatever we put our minds and our hearts to.

XO,

Val

Day 12

Compliment for the day: I feel AWESOME and feel I am looking pretty awesome too! 😀

PreWorkout Snack: Water

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  30 mins Core, 30 mins Cheeky, & 30 mins flexibility

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Ground pork sautéed with onions and apples with two eggs.

Lunch: Mini egg pizza’s with kale chips

Dinner: Mocha-rubbed pot roast with steamed beets and asparagus

Day 13

Compliment for the day: I am proud of myself for not giving into the Valentines day chocolate that I really wanted to give in to.

PreWorkout Snack: 1 cup of Homemade Almond Milk (so fun to make!)

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  1 hour TurboKick, 30 mins Core, and 30 mins Cheeky

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea (and a homemade almond milk latte…yummm!)

Breakfast: Chicken, sausage, mushroom and spinach casserole with homemade pico

Lunch:  Mocha-rubbed pot roast with steamed beets and asparagus

Dinner: Chicken/Shrimp Tortilla-less soup

Day 14

Compliment for the day: Way to go on getting your chores done yesterday so your Sunday is free for fun and meal prepping!

Workout:  REST DAY

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Chicken, sausage, mushroom and spinach casserole with homemade pico

Lunch: Chicken/Shrimp Tortilla-less soup

Dinner: Garbage stir-fry

Day 15

Compliment for the day: (will update)

PreWorkout Snack: 1 cup of Homemade Almond Milk (so fun to make!)

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  30 mins Sculpt & 30 mins Cheeky

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey & some butternut squash

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Sweet potato hash with two eggs and strawberries

Lunch: Garbage stir-fry

Dinner: Salmon w/avocado, steamed brussels and asparagus

5 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 12-15

  1. Bonnie

    ” I am co-creator in the magnificence of my life and in the lives of others….”

    Truly…you are!! Excellent journey….thank you for the fantastic inspiration. We continue to persevere!!!! 💗💖❤️

  2. Nice quote. And that’s crazy about the vivid food dreams! Sounds like your subconscious has noticed that you’re no longer eating biscuits 😛 Thanks for the share. I hope your mom and best friend are doing ok as well! Keep it up!!

    • Thank you! It really touched me! 🙂 Haha! Isn’t it though?? Weirdest thing ever but totally agree with you! Luckily they have stopped but have been craving a good glass of vino the last couple of days!

      They are both doing really well! So, so proud! Mama still has her headache 😦 poor thing! Looks like cold turkey from sugar can cause a headache for up to 2 months!!! Wish there was something more I could do for her! Trying everything we can but so proud of her as she hasn’t given up and keeps powering through!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

