Whole30 – Day 16, 17, & 18 + A little disappointment

Standard

Feeling a bit down after getting the results back about my knee the other day. Luckily, there is no structural damage but I was basically told I would have to live with the pain and the swelling. At 25, I have to just learn to live with knee pain for the rest of my life? I don’t think so. After the doctor gave me the news, I started asking questions to find out ways I could help my knee. Finally got a few things out of him… (I wasn’t going to let him get away with just telling me to live with it after spending all the time and money to get into see him)… he gave me a steroid injection in my knee, as well as a patella stabilizer brace (nicknamed BB – blue behemoth or big blue – pic below), and recommended a return to sports program at their physical therapists office. Before ending the appointment, he explained that none of these things may work and he may have to go in surgically anyways, but, I plan to avoid that at all costs.

Meet BB…

unnamed

She’s a beaut…eh?

I had my assessment at physical therapy yesterday morning and was told my knee is in bad shape and that I am no longer allowed to workout the lower half of my body. No impact, running, TRX, jumping, HIIT, tabata…nothing…for about 1.5-2 months. 😦 Stab to the heart…I do NOT do well when I am told I can’t do something, especially when it comes to fitness and exercise. I mean, don’t they know I just finally got back up to feeling fantastic and working out everyday?!? How can I go from being able to give it my all (with a limp…oops) to now being restricted? I know…I know…I have to listen, not be stubborn, and do what I need to do to get my knee better as I do NOT want to live with this pain the rest of my life.

My mantra through this….

NeverGiveUp

I know I CAN and I WILL persevere through this! I will NOT let my knee hold me back from where I want to be. I feel too amazing to just throw it all away. I may have to alter how I workout a bit, but I will NEVER GIVE UP! I am thinking of looking into swimming and plan on doing a ton of upper body strengthening with my girls at the Lemon! WE GOT THIS!

Day 16-27 – Timeline

On Day 18 of the Whole30 and I feel absolutely phenomenal! The cravings and weird dreams have totally subsided! Even when I was pretty down yesterday and would, in the past, turn to sweets, I wasn’t even tempted to in the slightest! 🙂 Such an incredible feeling to know that I do not need to turn to food to fix my emotions! My relationship with food has DRASTICALLY changed for the better! I have definitely been researching more and more about living a Paleo lifestyle. Got a couple of cook books; Practical Paleo and Nom Nom Paleo Food for Humans so I can continue with this once the 30 (or 45…yes I may continue on past the 30) is complete. Just feel too dang incredible to not continue my life this way.

Now mind you, I still believe in finding the balance so of course little indulgences will be thrown in here and there (red wine, occasional sweet treat, etc.) but it will not be an everyday/all-the-time thing! BALANCE, not perfection!

Read a great article and watched some neat clips from Dr. Oz yesterday about switching to a Paleo lifestyle. Thought I would share them with you all…

Paleo Diet Playbook – article

Your Personal Paleo Code: The Diet to Lose Weight and Get Healthy for Life – video (3 parts)

ANYONE can make this lifestyle change whichever way works best for them. With the results I have had and feel with only 18 days of the 30, I HIGHLY recommend at least giving it a try. Maybe try swapping out 2-3 meals a week for a Paleo meal and see what you think. (Also, read It Starts With Food… please, just an incredible read!) There are so many great resources for recipes and information about a Paleo lifestyle out there (Whole30, Nom Nom Paleo, The Clothes Make the Girl, Stupid Easy Paleo…). Give it a try and share what you think! The first few days were hard but it will now be how I will live out my life (with balance, of course!)…even my husband is on board! 🙂 Through determination and perseverance, we can do whatever we put our minds and hearts to!

Day 16

Compliment for the day: Keep positive thoughts all day for the knee (doctors appointment today).

PreWorkout Snack: Coffee with 1 tsp of coconut milk

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  1 hour Cardio/Sculpt & 30 mins Insanity

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey with butternut squash

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Chicken and pork sausage, hard-boiled egg, mushrooms, & strawberries, bananas, and coconut flakes with almond milk and a dash of cinnamon

Lunch: Salmon with avocado, roasted asparagus, and brussel sprouts

Dinner: Pork sliders with sweet potato buns and a cucumber salad

Day 17

PreWorkout Snack: Coffee with 1 tsp of coconut milk

Compliment for the day: Proud that I stood up to my doctor and asked for alternative ways to fix my knee rather than just having to live with it or having to have surgery.

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey with butternut squash

Workout (at The Lean Lemon): 30 mins Sculpt & 30 mins TRX abs + 1.5 hours of physical therapy

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Chicken and pork sausage, hard-boiled egg, carrots, and strawberries

Lunch: Pork sliders with sweet potato buns and a cucumber salad

Dinner: TACOS!

Day 18

Compliment for the day: I am proud of you for not giving up on what you are striving for even though you are restricted with your knee!

PreWorkout Snack: 1 cup of Homemade Almond Milk

Workout (at The Lean Lemon):  1 hour Sculpt (no cardio) & 30 mins Core

PostWorkout Snack: Slice of turkey with butternut squash

Drinks All Day: WATER, coffee, & tea

Breakfast: Sweet potato hash with two eggs, pork, and strawberries

Lunch: TACOS!

Dinner: Cauliflower Clam Chowder w/homemade bacon

2 thoughts on “Whole30 – Day 16, 17, & 18 + A little disappointment

Leave a Reply

